White Chocolate and Matcha Macarons

I think it’s safe to say that anyone who enjoys baking has wanted to make macarons at some point, and I am definitely no exception to this rule. Therefore I decided to use my blog as an excuse to inflict them on the family. However, this is not the only thing I’ve introduced that could be classed as an infliction depending on your tastebuds. I first discovered matcha, a green tea powder, working at a smoothie bar near my Uni. It has quite a subtle taste and therefore I thought it would work well with sweeter flavours. I decided to flavour the macarons themselves with the matcha powder, giving them their pale green colour and then fill them with a white chocolate ganache. I used a BBC good food recipe as a basis for mine and found it worked pretty well considering I’m a bit of a macaron virgin. I halved the recipe as my family aren’t particularly sold then it comes to almond flavours, but I replaced 15g of the icing sugar with the matcha powder and the dark chocolate with white. This worked pretty well, although one thing I will add is that you must be careful when lining the trays. I used regular baking parchment which, due to the wetter nature of the meringue, meant in the end I had the shells but not so much of the macaron itself. I managed to salvage them to an extent, but unfortunately I cannot claim they were anywhere near perfect. But here is the recipe anyway so I hope you enjoy!

IMG_0035.JPG

White Chocolate and Matcha Macarons

 

Ingredients

For the Macaron:

  • 115g Icing Sugar
  • 15g Matcha Powder
  • 120g Ground Almonds
  • 90ml Egg Whites
  • 120g Granulated Sugar

For the Filling

  • 90g Double Cream
  • 80g White Chocolate
  • 15g Unsalted Butter

Method

  1. Place the icing sugar, matcha powder and the almonds in a food processor and quickly blitz until combined and then pass through a sieve.
  2. Add half the egg whites and mix until it forms a smooth paste. Set aside.
  3. Place the rest of the egg whites into a bowl with an electric whisk at the ready. In the meantime slowly heat the granulated sugar with 25ml water without stirring. Once this reaches 110C on a sugar thermometer, start whisking the egg whites on high. When the sugar reaches 118C remove from the heat. While continuing to whisk the egg whites, pour the sugar syrup gradually down the side of the bowl into the mix, making sure to avoid the whisk. When all the syrup is added, continue to whisk until the bowl has cooled slightly and is warm to the touch.
  4. Mix the meringue carefully into the almond paste, combining gently until the mix is very slightly runny. It should fall in a thick ribbon from the spatula, the trail fading after about 30 seconds.
  5. Heat the oven to 170C/150C fan. Pipe the macaron mix in rounds onto lined baking trays. Leave to rest in the fridge for 30 minutes until they have formed a skin.
  6. Bake for 14 minutes. Once cooked, slide the baking sheets immediately onto a work surface and leave to cool slightly before peeling them off.
  7. To make the filling, warm the cream in a saucepan until it just starts to boil. In the meantime, chop the chocolate into smallish chunks.
  8. Once the cream is about to boil, remove from the heat and pour over the chocolate. Leave for a couple of minutes and then stir. Stir in the butter and leave until thickened.
  9. Once the ganache has thickened, spread onto the base of one shell and then sandwich with another.
3 thoughts on “White Chocolate and Matcha Macarons

Leave a Reply

