Oaty Pumpkin Cookies

Although I have been trying to get into the habit of posting on a Sunday, there are two main reasons for my spontaneous midweek blog post. Firstly, it’s Halloween so I have to post something naughty after my slightly healthier offering of Pumpkin and Coconut Granola. Secondly, I barely made a dint in my roasted pumpkin (and I only prepped half) so why not use it as an excuse for extra baking! I’ve experimented a lot with cookies in the past and, while I make a mean chocolate chip cookie, I have always struggled to get the knack of adding flavours and extra ingredients. My personal favourite/ favourite disaster was one of my attempts at a goats cheese and honey flavour: on baking the 4 evenly spaced rounds of dough, they successfully merged into one massive gooey, bendy cookie sheet. It was a very tasty cookie sheet, but even after several attempts they definitely need more work.

However, this recipe only took a couple of attempts, partially because I actually did some research before I started. I searched google for some existing pumpkin cookies and compared them to a recipe from the BBC, my usual point of call. I then made use of my rusty maths skills to convert from cups to grams, made a few adaptations and came up with the quantities below. Much to my surprise, the measurements created a nice dough. It was stiff but still quite moist, so I approached the oven with high hopes. The first batch were tasty, but needed more work. I have been deliberately trying to make smaller batches purely because there are far too many baked goods floating around the house for us to keep on top of without vastly increasing daily levels of movement. However, genius over here still thought it would be a great idea to add the full amounts of all 3 spices even after quartering the recipe. It’s safe to say the cookies were a bit pungent, so I made a mental note to hold off a little bit on the next attempt. While they were quite nice, the cookies also didn’t spread as much as I’d hoped, so it was still back to the drawing board.

img_1470

After taking a blurry screenshot of what was essentially a cookie trouble shooting chart on pintrest, I eventually made the decision to melt the butter instead of creaming it in the initial stages and to use the dough straight away as opposed to chilling it for at least half an hour like I normally do. My portions were also quite small on the first tray, so I made each cookie slightly bigger. This was a lot more successful. I mean theoretically, let’s face it, no one is going to choose Maryland over Millie’s. This version had a very similar texture to the first batch. They were still soft without being chewy and although they were quite dense they still had a certain lightness to them. Adding a bit less spice also meant the flavours balanced more evenly meaning they did not need to be dubbed ‘Spiced Oaty Pumpkin Cookies’. Therefore I would definitely say the second batch were more successful and have featured this version in my recipe below. Either way, however, I hope you enjoy!

img_1471

Oaty Pumpkin Cookies (makes approx. 6 cookies)

  • 55g butter
  • 40g molasses sugar
  • 25g granulated sugar
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 45g roasted pumpkin
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 65g plain flour
  • 35g oats
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • Pinch of salt
  • Ground cinnamon, ginger and nutmeg
  • 55g mixed dried fruit (sultanas, cranberries etc.)

Method

  1. Preheat your oven to 180C/ 160 Fan/ 320F
  2. Completely melt the butter in a saucepan. Transfer to a bowl, adding both the sugars sugars and the honey and mixing until incorporated.
  3. In a separate bowl, whizz the pumpkin puree and the egg yolk with a stick blender until it forms a thick paste. Once combined, add to the butter and sugar. Mix until fully combined.
  4. Again in a separate bowl, mix together the flour, oats, baking soda, salt and a  good sprinkle of each spice. I added slightly more nutmeg but how much you add is entirely down to personal preference. Add this to the rest of the ingredients and beat until you can’t see any flour and you have a thick but sticky dough.
  5. Place heaped teaspoons of the mix on a lined baking tray and flatten slightly. Make sure they are evenly spaced and the tray is not overcrowded to give them room for spreading.
  6. Bake in the oven for 15 minutes, turning the tray after 10. Remove from the oven once golden and evenly baked. Leave to cool for about 5 minutes until slightly hardened and transfer to a wire rack.
2 thoughts on “Oaty Pumpkin Cookies

Leave a Reply

