Blueberry Kir Royale Cupcakes

If you read my blog posts you will probably have noticed that, aside from baking, I also talk a lot about drinking! Since I am a Geordie lass this isn’t probably that surprising, but since my effort pales when compared with the likes of Geordie Shore I thought this time I would approach alcohol in a way that dodges the hangovers and accommodates my comparably tame attempts at drinking. These cupcakes are also perfect for an occasion or celebration, so this week they are particularly apt considering it is my friend Sophie’s birthday! Being one of the Westfield girls it goes without saying that she is involved in most of my activities that involve eating and/or drinking (including certain dinner parties). So why not make her some cakes that combine the two! Either way, however, she is always an absolute laugh and we all love her for it!

img_0082

My original plan for her birthday was to do standard Kir Royal Cupcakes, but blackcurrants are out of season it was an eye on impossible trying to get them. However, I had a certain decoration in mind which meant I was determined to stick to the plan in mind, so stubbornness won out and now we have Blueberry Kir Royal Cupcakes. However, this does not mean they are lacking in any way in creme de cassis, or Prosecco for that matter. On the whole they are made up of plain vanilla cupcakes, filled with a creme de cassis and blueberry jam and topped with prosecco buttercream and gold dusted blueberries (once my dad had replaced all the ones he snaffled when I wasn’t looking!)

img_0081

I have included all the recipes below, but they are mainly just deviations on recipes I have used in the past. For example, I used the same recipe for the jam here as I did for my Lemon and Aronia Berry Iced Biscuits, and the base recipe for the cupcakes is exactly the same as in my posts for Turkish delight, or liquorice allsort cupcakes. What I’m trying to say is you can play around with any of these recipes pretty easily, so don’t be afraid to give them a tweak or two to suit your taste buds. However, on the whole (and in all modesty of course) these cupcakes turned out pretty well. The jam was really sweet but the sharpness of the blueberries cut through it while still having slightly boozy tint to it. The Prosecco came through really well in the icing and reminded me in some ways of champagne purely because of the sweetness of the icing. One thing I will add is that you should make sure you don’t overfill them, otherwise you end up with massive mushroom shapes like I did. These can be easily hidden with some buttercream (icing hides a multitude of sins as I always say). Either way I hope you enjoy!

img_0079

Blueberry Kir Royale Cupcakes (makes 16 large cupcakes)

For the Jam:

  • 185g blueberries
  • 25ml creme de cassis
  • 100g caster sugar

For the cakes:

  • 4 eggs
  • 8oz. self raising flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 80z. margarine
  • 8oz. caster sugar

For the icing

  • Approx. 250g unsalted butter, room temperature
  • Icing sugar
  • Prosecco
  • Blueberries (for decoration)
  • Edible gold dust (for decoration)

 

Method:

  1. For the jam, put the blueberries and the cassis in saucepan and simmer for 10 minutes until the blueberries begin to burst. Add the sugar and simmer for another 10 minutes, then remove from the heat and leave to cool.
  2. Preheat your oven to 180C/ 160 Fan
  3. Put all the ingredients in a stand mixer, eggs first, and beat until pale, smooth and creamy. Spoon the mix into the cupcake cases so they are about a 1/3 full, add a teaspoon of jam to each cake an then cover with the rest of the mix.
  4. Bake for around 25 minutes. Leave to cool completely on a wire rack.
  5. To make the icing, put the whisk attachment on your mixer and beat until smooth. Then sift in a generous amount of icing sugar and continue to beat until all combined. Add the Prosecco and beat again. Continue to add amounts of icing sugar and Prosecco until you get the consistency and flavour you’re after. It should be pale and light but stiff enough to hold it’s shape.
  6. Pipe onto your cupcakes. I did a rose pattern with a closed star tip nozzle.
  7. Place the blueberries for decoration onto a plate (I did 3 on each cake) and tap over some of the gold dust with a paint brush. Roll the blueberries around until they are covered enough for your liking. Place them on the tops of your cupcakes and tap over more gold dust if you fancy.

img_0083

 

3 thoughts on “Blueberry Kir Royale Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

