Lemon, Ginger and White Chocolate Slice

After a week of offering you something slightly healthier, I thought for this post I would offer you something a little more true to form. Unlike my healthier honey gingerbread, it is safe to say there is nothing even remotely slimming about my traybake this week. But, being modest as per, it is still pretty good!

As with many of my posts, however, I also have to admit that things did not go to plan in more ways than one. Firstly I was not even planning on doing a traybake this week. I am off to Japan in a couple of days time to visit my friend Charlie so I was going to do something with an appropriate theme as an expression of my slightly smug excitement. I’ll keep my idea secret for the moment just in case I am brave enough to attempt them again, but for know these slices will have to do (not that this is any particular hardship).

Lemon, Ginger and White Chocolate Slice

For the recipe I again adapted one of Nigella Lawson’s recipes for rocky road on the BBC, but unfortunately the substitutions were not as simple as I had hoped. Since it does not have as many cocoa solids in it as dark or milk, the white chocolate did make the bar a little greasy, so if you try it I would recommend only partially melting the chocolate so the mix isn’t as wet. Otherwise, on the whole, I would say it turned out pretty well. All of the flavours came through: the lemon gave the bar a lovely freshness, while the white chocolate provided a more smooth and creamy sensation and the ginger a bit more sweetness without being overpowering. The only other suggestion I would make is potentially adding some stem ginger to the mix, but it is entirely up to you. Either way I hope you enjoy!

Lemon, Ginger and White Chocolate Slice

Lemon, Ginger and White Chocolate Slice (Serves approx. 16)

  • 125g butter
  • 300g white chocolate
  • 3 tbsp golden syrup
  • 300g ginger snaps
  • Zest of 2 lemons

Method

  1. Melt the butter, chocolate and golden syrup in a small saucepan, but try not to fully melt it if possible.
  2. Crush the biscuits either in a mixer or in a sandwich bag with a rolling pin until it is broken up into chunks of various sizes.
  3. Pour in the chocolate mix and put in the zest, then mix until the biscuits are evenly coated.
  4. Tip into a lined baking tin, flatten and leave to set. Cut into small pieces.

 

2 thoughts on “Lemon, Ginger and White Chocolate Slice

  1. Pingback: Nutella Slice

Leave a Reply

