Orange, Ginger and Pumpkin Seed Flapjack

First of all I apologise for the tardiness of this post; even though the hard part (i.e. the baking) was done in time, I ran out of time to find an opportunity to bore you with my thoughts as I usually do on a Sunday night so you will have to find it in your hearts to forgive me. I promise to get back on track now my schedule is returning to normal.

However, these flapjacks might be just what you need to pick you up on a Monday. Although they are perhaps in some ways quite autumnal, I have to admit the flavours go really well together and you could definitely do a fairly good job of convincing yourself they’re healthy. Admittedly this week’s blog post is perhaps a bit more tactical than some others. I was invited down to an interview in Reading and, since I was determined to prove I actually good bake (and made some promise about baking as a form of bribery on my CV), I felt I needed to deliver. While flapjacks aren’t the most impressive thing to bake, I have made them a lot, they are fairly durable and they are generally quite popular, so I thought why not give them a go?

In this version I used jumbo oats instead of the regular porridge oats and I have to admit this did effect the final result. If you prefer a cakier texture I would definitely go for the jumbo, but if you prefer your flapjacks a bit softer and, in some ways, smoother, then stick with the original porridge oats. However, both are delicious;  I think it is the flour that really makes all the difference so don’t skip out on that. Obviously you can also play around with flavours a lot but, being modest as per, this flavour did go down pretty well and there was a pretty good balance of the ginger and the orange. Either way I hope you enjoy

Orange, Ginger and Pumpkin Seed Flapjack

  • 175g unsalted butter
  • 60g golden syrup
  • 90g light brown soft sugar
  • 1 tsp ginger syrup
  • 30g plain flour
  • 165g oats
  • 4 stem ginger balls, chopped
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • Zest of an orange
  • 1 tbsp orange juice
  • A handful of pumpkin seeds

Method

  1. Preheat your oven to 180C/ 160C Fan.
  2. Melt the butter, golden syrup, sugar and ginger syrup together.
  3. Mix the flour, oats, stem ginger, ground ginger and orange zest together in a separate bowl and add the melted ingredients and the orange juice.
  4. Stir in the pumpkin seeds and bake in a lined baking tray for about 20 minutes or until golden. Leave to cool completely before turning out and slicing.
One thought on “Orange, Ginger and Pumpkin Seed Flapjack

Leave a Reply

