Easter Baking Part 1- Creme Egg Cookies

Since I admit my last few blog posts have been a little rushed, I thought I would make up for it this week with not only one, but two! (cue shocks and gasps). Just in case you hadn’t guessed from the all the creme eggs and Malteaser bunnies that I’m sure started appearing around Valentine’s Day, it’s also Easter this weekend. So, really, I have the perfect excuse to use as much chocolate as I physically can in my next couple of posts, hurrah!

So the first recipe I have may not be the most unique, but I thought I would provide you with my own version of creme egg cookies. I warn you now that I have not looked at, and therefore heeded the advice, any recipes of anyone who has braved this path before me, but I couldn’t resist trying to combine this with my favourite cookie recipe from the BBC. I haven’t made these cookies in a while, but you can also see the recipe featured waaaay back in my post for walnut and maple fudge cookies. I have experimented with this recipe a lot and been met with varying degrees of success. After realising a lot of the slightly failed attempts were down to my playing with the actual mix and the consistency of the ingredients instead of the added extras, I hoped that simply adding some creme eggs and cocoa powder to the dough would not effect them too badly.

Creme Egg Cookies

So, after a 5 shop Easter egg hunt of my own, I finally found some creme eggs. Before I made the dough I quickly popped them in the freezer to try and firm them up a little before baking. Although I knew the chocolate would almost completely melt regardless, I hoped that the filling would take longer to melt and therefore be more prominent after they were baked. When they came out the oven you could still definitely see the filling so I was quite hopeful. Although I think I could have done with adding some extra chocolate chips, there is a risk that if you do this you might end up masking the subtlety of the filling. I have to, of course modestly, admit that overall they are pretty good. When you get sections with the actual creme in, you can taste it. Although it is sweet, it is still really yummy and maintains some of it’s gooeyness while being slightly crunchy at the same time. You definitely need a sweet tooth to get through one of these bad boys, but hey, it’s Easter so treat yo self! Either way I hope you enjoy!

p.s. the dough is pretty tasty too…

Creme Egg Cookies

Creme Egg Cookies (makes approx. 16 cookies)

  • 4 creme eggs
  • 125g unsalted butter
  • 100g light brown soft sugar
  • 125g caster sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 190g self raising flour
  • 35g cocoa powder
  • Pinch of salt
  1. Put the creme eggs in the freezer while you are making the dough.
  2. Cream together the butter and the sugar. Once completely mixed add the egg and continue to beat until fully incorporated.
  3. Add the flour, cocoa powder and the salt and beat again until the mix comes together in a dough.
  4. Take the creme eggs out the freezer and cut them into chunks. Add to the dough and stir briefly so they are evenly dispersed.
  5. Chill the dough for at least 30 minutes.
  6. Preheat your oven to 180C/ 160C Fan.
  7. Line a baking tray with greaseproof and arrange 4 small and slightly flattened balls of dough on top so they are evenly spaced.
  8. Bake in the oven for 15 minutes, turning the tray after 5.
  9. Once baked remove the cookies from the oven and leave to cool for a couple of minutes. Once the cookies have sunk carefully remove them from the greaseproof and place on a wire rack. Repeat the process with the rest of the dough.
One thought on “Easter Baking Part 1- Creme Egg Cookies

Leave a Reply

