Easter Baking Part 2- Crunchy Easter Rocky Road

Happy Easter everybody! I hope you have all had a good day while I have admittedly been at work (no jealousy whatsoever), eaten lots of chocolate and enjoyed a good Sunday roast. And, just in case you haven’t eaten enough, I now have my recipe for my crunchy easter rocky road to offer. Being modest as per, I have to admit that these could single-handedly be the cause a few extra stones, and a few extra dress sizes, on my behalf at least. Therefore proceed with caution.

You may have already seen my post for creme egg cookies earlier this week and, while these were pretty delicious in their own right, it was these little buggers that I found my greedy mits reaching for in the tin. Having posted a few traybakes recently, including my ginger, orange and pumpkin seed flapjack, and my lemon, ginger and white chocolate slice, I promise this will be the last one for a little while. But this recipe is really too good not to share.

Crunchy Easter Rocky Road

Mini eggs are one of my weaknesses and, while I am definitely glad they are a seasonal thing, I always try and make the most of them when I deem Easter acceptably close to start gorging on chocolate. Therefore I had to incorporate them somehow into a blog post; being a big fan of Nigella Lawson’s rocky road, one of the first things that sprang to mind was to try and adapt her recipe and come up with a festive version of my own. While this is a great treat for the bank holiday weekend, it would also be a great way of using up any odd Easter treats that are left over. Not to mention they are super easy to make. They are the perfect combo between a rocky road and crunchy cornflake nests. While they are definitely sweet and indulgent, they are also slightly lighter, and therefore moreish in my opinion.

I have to admit that they were initially meant to be in a kind of swirled effect as I split the chocolate mix into two halves, making one with white as opposed to dark. Although this did not quite work out to plan, they were still delicious so I am going to include the same method I used, but if you just want to use dark I’m sure it will be equally as nice. Also feel free to be creative with the Easter Eggs you use; I mainly chose these types pure because they are the ones that really epitomise the holiday for me. One last thing I will add is that the pieces are quite crumbly. Again I don’t think this will be the case if you use all dark, but you can always omit the cornflakes if you want a more traditional, tiffin like texture. Either way I hope you enjoy!

IMG_1650

Crunchy Easter Rocky Road (makes approx. 25 squares)

  • 3 Creme Eggs
  • 150g dark chocolate
  • 150g white chocolate
  • 125g unsalted butter
  • 3 tbsp golden syrup
  • 200g rich tea biscuits
  • 100g cornflakes
  • 100g marshmallows
  • 150g Mini Eggs, plus some extra for decoration
  1. If you are using creme eggs, pop them in the freezer just before you start prepping he rest of the ingredients.
  2. Break up the white chocolate and the dark chocolate into separate saucepans and split the butter and the golden syrup between them. Melt them both over the hob.
  3. Meanwhile put the rich tea biscuits, the cornflakes and the marshmallows in a mixer and turn it on for a little while to break them up. Then add the easter eggs and mix again to incorporate. You may need to chop the creme eggs before you add them.
  4. Place half biscuit the mixture in another bowl. Add the melted white chocolate to one bowl and most of the dark to the other, saving some for decoration.
  5. Mix the two halves together again and press down into a lined baking tin.
  6. Drizzle over the rest of the dark chocolate and, after crushing them with the side of a knife, scatter over the rest of your mini eggs.
  7. Leave to set in the fridge for a couple of hours and cut into chunks.
2 thoughts on “Easter Baking Part 2- Crunchy Easter Rocky Road

Leave a Reply

