Rhubarb, Spelt and Pecan Crumble

And so the healthy baking continues with this weeks offering of a rhubarb, spelt and pecan crumble. As with my previous posts for a matcha, raspberry and honey cake, or my protein loaf from last week, I’m not going to bore you with the reasons behind the health kick as, let’s face it, it’s not really that exciting! But what I will say is that there was definitely a hint of smugness during my Summer shopping trip yesterday as I managed to squeeze myself into a slightly smaller size. This was quickly wiped from my expression when I was smacked with a phone bill to repair my phone, but all that aside I can cross my fingers that these posts are actually working!

Crumble is never renowned for being the healthiest dessert on offer and I can’t say this will be vastly different, but if I can shave calories (or have my crumble and eat it too) then I’m in! As with my healthier honey gingerbread, I adapted the recipe from the healthy edition of BBC’s Good Food magazine. Their recipe had the intentions of being gluten free, and while I have completely ruined that spelt does still have higher levels of fibre and protein. It’s nuttier flavour, combined with the pecans, also gives the crumble mix a deeper flavour that makes up for the use of less sugar, or in this case stevia. I have always been sceptical of stevia as an artificial sweetener and while it might not be the most natural option, you hardly put any in and therefore don’t consume that much. So I thought I’d satisfy my curiosity and give it a go.

Rhubarb, Spelt and Pecan Crumble

While I did end up using a bit more flour and stevia than the recipe suggested, it still produced some pretty tasty results. Admittedly this is nowhere near as sweet as your traditional crumble, but it still has some lovely flavours as the stevia balances the bitterness of the rhubarb. If you’re naughty like me you can always add some demerara at the end, but either way I hope you enjoy!

Rhubarb, Spelt and Pecan Crumble

Rhubarb, Spelt and Pecan Crumble (Serves 4)

  • 12 tbsp spelt flour
  • 5 tsp stevia
  • 75g butter
  • Handful of pecans
  • 5 sticks of rhubarb
  • 1 eating apple

Method

  1. Preheat your oven to 180C/ 160 Fan.
  2. Put the flour and stevia in a bowl and mix together. Chop the butter into cubes and rub into the flour mix to create a breadcrumb-like texture.
  3. Chop the pecans, add to the crumble mix and set to one side.
  4. For the filling, chop the rhubarb and apple into small chunks, then put in a saucepan with 2 tbsp water. Cook on a medium heat until the fruit has softened; you may need to add more water as you go to prevent sticking.
  5. Layer the fruit and the crumble mixes in ramekins and bake for 25-30 minutes until slightly browned.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Rhubarb, Spelt and Pecan Crumble

Leave a Reply

