‘Healthy’ Raspberry, Coconut and Chocolate Squares

In this weeks post I inform you, with regret, that there is a very slim chance I might have slightly cheated. I have recently been trying to stick to a ‘no refined sugar ‘ kind of health kick in the upcoming weeks to the tough mudder I have signed up for (there it is), but I couldn’t resist giving these bad boys a go.

The idea came about when I was reading up a little bit about healthier baking and sugar substitutes and one source, which I think was the BBC (surprise surprise), stated that you could use fruit coulis as a replacement for golden syrup in recipes. I was intrigued as not only would this be a much  more nutritious option, but it would potentially bring out more of the flavour if the other ingredients didn’t mask it. I therefore decided to put this theory to the test by adapting a tropical rocky road recipe, again from the BBC! One day I will branch out, I promise. I apologise for the offering of yet another traybake as I posted my crunchy Easter rocky road, my orange, ginger and pumpkin seed flapjack, and my lemon, ginger and white chocolate slice in quite quick succession. But I will also admit that I have been quite busy this week and a quick option is all I have had time for; I even did a Joe Wicks HIIT workout while I was waiting for the coulis to cool to put this into some kind of perspective for you. So for this week you will just have to deal with it I’m afraid.

If you read my post for my Easter rocky road you might have noticed that I used a different recipe. But that’s one of the joys about rocky road, it’s so easy to play about with. As long as you have the right base ingredients and the right ratio so its not too dry or wet, you’re good to go. I, however, not only decided to change the golden syrup for coulis but the butter for coconut oil. If you use gluten free or vegan biscuits then this recipe can easily become suitable for either, but I thought I would test it out before I let people roam completely free with it.

On the whole I have to admit, again in all honesty, that it was pretty good. As with some of my other healthier bakes, such as the rhubarb, spelt and pecan crumble, this might not satisfy your sweet tooth as much as the normal recipes. I used 85% dark chocolate so it definitely has a rich, bittersweet element to it. If you aren’t as much of a fan of this as I am then you might want to opt for one with a lower percentage of cocoa, but that is entirely up to you. Either way it’s still pretty delicious, especially with the fresh raspberries. Either way I hope you enjoy!

'Healthy' raspberry, chocolate and coconut slice

Healthy Raspberry, Chocolate and Coconut Slice (makes approx. 30 bites)

  • 300g raspberries
  • 1 tbsp stevia
  • 2 tsp water
  • 200g dark chocolate (about 85%)
  • 100g coconut oil
  • 100g rich tea biscuits
  • 100g desiccated coconut

Method

  1. To make the coulis, place 150g raspberries in a saucepan with the stevia and the water. Heat until the raspberries have broken down into a sauce-like consistency.
  2. Pass the mix through a sieve and leave to cool slightly.
  3. Meanwhile melt the chocolate and coconut oil together. Once melted stir through the coulis and set to one side.
  4. Break up the rich tea biscuits in a separate bowl and add the coconut.
  5. Add the chocolate mix and stir through until even combined.
  6. Add the raspberries and stir again, but try not to break them up too much.
  7. Turn the mix out into a lined baking tray and press down. Leave to set in the fridge and cut into bite size squares when ready.

 

 

Leave a Reply

