Vegan Peanut and Date Breakfast Muffins

Although it is a little late (I 100% blame numerical reasoning tests and my decreasing ability to count), I am continuing with the health kick trend in preparation for my tough mudder (which is now only a few weeks away) with my offering of vegan peanut and date breakfast muffins. Again it is debatable whether they can really be deemed healthy as the no refined sugar attempts have been firmly kicked to the curb, but I thought they would provide an interesting breakfast alternative without packing in too many calories.

As with my recipe for healthier rhubarb, spelt and pecan crumbles, I will reveal, to the utmost shock of everyone reading, that I have yet again adapted a recipe from BBC Good Food. However, this recipe comes from their newest magazine which focuses more on cooking in an environmentally friendly way. While there has been some debate surrounding whether veganism is more beneficial for the environment, I have to admit I was surprised at how easy and, in some ways, inexpensive this recipe was. So therefore I thought why not give it a go?

On the whole they turned out pretty well. I didn’t really adjust the recipe a huge amount apart from the addition of dates and the type of nut butter used, but the flavours went together really well. My only issue is that I thought there was slightly too much of the crumble topping and this made the muffins a little dense and dry. While they were still pretty yummy, I have reduced the quantities slightly in an attempt to combat this. However, feel free to play around; they are definitely a great breakfast to grab after you’ve had that extra 10 minutes in bed before work. Either way I hope you enjoy!

Vegan Date and Peanut Butter Breakfast Muffins

Vegan Peanut and Date Breakfast Muffins (makes approx. 12)

  • 120g oats
  • 50 light brown soft sugar
  • 160g plain flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 250ml sweetened soy milk
  • A small handful of dates
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2.5 tbsp peanut butter
  • 2 tbsp demerara sugar
  • 30g peanuts, roughly chopped

Method

  1. Preheat your oven to 200C/ 180C Fan.
  2. Mix 100g of the oats with the light brown sugar, flour and the baking powder.
  3. Combine the milk and 2 tbsp of the peanut butter in a separate bowl and then stir into the flour mix to form the batter.
  4. Spoon into cases in a lined muffin tin.
  5. Mix the rest of the oats with the rest of the peanut butter, the peanuts and the demerara, then spoon this on top of the muffins.
  6. Bake in the oven for around 25 minutes until golden and a skewer comes out clean.

 

One thought on “Vegan Peanut and Date Breakfast Muffins

Leave a Reply

