S’more Meringue Kisses

In the last Sunday before my Tough Mudder, I admit defeat by breaking my no sugar streak in utter style. This, of course, could only be done by choosing something that is basically full of the stuff. To be honest, I think this is probably quite a good representation of my training levels in general; I started out with good intentions but, in the end, I’m not actually sure how much further along the fitness lines I really am! But think of it this way, this is at least the penultimate time you’ll have to hear about it; there is always a silver lining!

Since my busy streak continues I have to admit that, again, this isn’t the post that has had the most thought and effort put into it. But you can never complain to a good meringue! You can probably (/hopefully) tell just by comparing the photos that my meringue efforts have definitely improved since my lime cardamom and coconut meringues last year (from which I was unsurprisingly put off trying them again for a while). Apart from anything it’s always a good sign when they at least hold their shape! I think I have previously mentioned a Youtube tutorial from Jamie Oliver and Cupcake Jemma, but I cannot reinforce enough how helpful it has been. I have to admit that after watching it a batch has not gone wrong since.

By saying that I can almost guarantee that my next set will undoubtedly go horrifically wrong (*touches wood*), but I will temporarily revel in my own smug success. I have to say that the method is fairly easy if you are familiar with the process as you simply add a few extra ingredients, but these would make the perfect cake decoration, or even serve as a little snack to curb those sugar cravings.

While the flavours went really well together, the meringues were a little bit more crisp than I would have liked, meaning you didn’t get as much of the marshmallow element of a s’more as I had hoped. However, if you can master the execution of the meringues, the recipe and flavour combos are pretty foolproof. The only other note I will add is that you might want to crush your digestives a little more than I did so you get a more even coating on each kiss. Either way I hope you enjoy! *mwah*

S'more Meringue Kisses

S’more Meringue Kisses (makes approx. 60 bite size kisses)

  • 2 egg whites
  • 100g sugar
  • 1.5 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 100g dark chocolate
  • 5 digestive biscuits

Method

  1. Preheat your oven to 170C/ 150C Fan.
  2. Put your egg whites in a clean bowl and start to whisk with an electric whisk on a relatively slow speed.
  3. Once the whites are quite bubbly (this should take a few minutes), start to add the sugar tablespoon by tablespoon, making sure to wait a few seconds between each addition.
  4. Once all the sugar has been added, turn up the speed and continue to whisk for another few minutes until the mixture is firm, glossy and all the sugar has dissolved. You can tell by rubbing the mix between your fingers to see if there are still any grains.
  5. Put half the mix into a separate bowl and sift the cocoa powder into the remaining mix. Whisk until it is evenly dispersed, but be careful not to over beat.
  6. Spread the white meringue mix into one half of the piping bag and the chocolate into the other half, then pipe into little splodges (using the most accurate terminology as always) onto a baking tray lined with baking parchment.
  7. Place the kisses in the centre of the oven and bake for 30 minutes. After 30 minutes turn the oven off without opening it and leave the meringues in there for at least an hour to finish cooking slowly.
  8. Once you’re happy your meringues are cooked, melt the chocolate over a bain marie and crush the digestives in a separate bowl or in a food processor.
  9. Dip the base of each meringue in the chocolate and then coat with the biscuit crumbs.
2 thoughts on “S’more Meringue Kisses

Leave a Reply

