Sun dried Tomato, Feta and Herb Bread

Unfortunately since I am, yet again, in a bit of a rush this week, I can’t say that this post demonstrates some of my finest efforts. But, at the end of the day, can you really complain to a sun dried tomato, feta and herb loaf? (My answer is certainly not!).

I decided to go for this mainly because I had not made bread since my post for my superfood protein loaf, but also because we were making an italian aubergine traybake for dinner which had bread in the recipe. It looked absolutely delicious from the photos and I thought it would be a nice idea to try and see if I could elevate it even further as a whole dish. Besides, I already find enough excuses to stuff myself silly with sugar, so I thought why not give myself one less reason. Of course things never quite go to plan as I am not actually around for the making of the aubergine traybake tonight (I’m just so busy with so many friends *nawt*), but I still thought I would post the recipe I used in case you were interested in trying it. Obviously it will go nicely with any tomato/bread based recipe, so it’s a fairly versatile loaf if you are going down that route.

Of course, being as ‘stomachally’ inclined as I am, I had to try a little bit before I sacrificed it to my parents and I have to admit that, while it was nice, to my disappointment I could only really say it was OK. It was a nice basic bread, but I didn’t quite mix the ingredients in enough before I left it to prove for the second time. This meant that, while there was plenty of topping visible on the top, there wasn’t much inside the loaf. I also think this prevented it rising as much as the different ingredients might have weighed it down meaning it was flatter than anticipated, but this might have been down to other factors such as types of flour, proving temperatures etc. so I can’t say this for definite. However I would not let this put you off; it is still a nice loaf and you can even play around with other flavours if you fancy. Either way I hope you enjoy.

Sundried Tomato, Feta and Herb Bread

Sun dried Tomato, Feta and Herb Bread (makes 1 large loaf)

  • 500g wholemeal flower
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 7g fast action yeast
  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 300ml warm water
  • 10 sun dried tomatoes
  • 30g feta
  • 2 sprigs fresh rosemary
  • 2 sprigs fresh basil

Method

  1. Place the flour in a bowl and place the salt and yeast on opposite sides. Stir together and create well in the middle.
  2. Mix the oil and water in a measuring jug and gradually add to the flour, stirring between each addition. Start bringing the dough together with your hands until it forms a ball. You can add a little extra water if needed.
  3. Once the dough has come together, tip it out onto a lightly floured surface and knead for a few minutes until smooth.
  4. Place in an oiled bowl and leave to prove somewhere warm for an hour or until it has doubled in size.
  5. Roughly chop the sun dried tomatoes and the herbs.
  6. Knock back the dough and add chopped ingredients and crumble in the feta. Knead together until the fillings are evenly dispersed. Form back into a ball and place on a lined baking tray. Cover with clingfilm and leave to prove again for another hour.
  7. Preheat your oven to 220C/ 200C Fan.
  8. Remove the clingfilm from your dough, cut a cross in the top and bake for 25-30 minutes. You know the dough is cooked when a hollow sound is made when you tap the bottom. Leave to cool on a wire rack.
Leave a Reply

