Bucks Fizz Cupcakes

For the first time in a while I can proudly admit that a decision to do a post isn’t entirely random and last minute. Not only had I been a questionable friend in forgetting to make cake for not one, but two of my best friends’ birthdays, one of the girls I was closest to at work finally managed to escape and find a new job so I felt there was cause for celebration all around! So after joking about bringing a bottle of bucks fizz to work I landed on these cupcakes as, I will admit, a somewhat reluctant alternative. But hopefully they were worth it!

Although I haven’t posted cupcakes in a while I used a very similar recipe to the posts already on my blog. While, unsurprisingly, the most comparable is the blueberry kir royale cupcakes again, I will still include a recipe. You can, however, easily adapt a method you are comfortable with in consideration of your own tastes to create a unique balance of flavour. I unfortunately cannot give a huge amount of feedback as I chose not to try one: I am already capable of stuffing my face with enough sugar without adding another excuse to do so. The bake itself was really simple and, if you are familiar with making cupcakes, you will have no problem. For the decoration I went with a rose pattern and star tip, mainly because it’s my go to pattern, and sprinkled some gold sugar on the top to make them a little bit more glam. Obviously feel free to play around with this some more; if you have a little more time I can’t imagine it will be particularly hard to try something a little more interesting.

In terms of taste I did receive some good feedback (in fact, it was so good a random drunken man tried to guilt trip me in the pub where I met my friends about not giving him one- if that isn’t true validation of my baking ability then I don’t know what is). However, I did manage to salvage one for my parents to share, so decided to pick my Mum’s brains without much avail. She said they were nice and you could taste both flavours, and that she would have liked a whole one to herself. Therefore I have at least come to a conclusion that they can’t have been too awful. Obviously if you do decide to give them a try you can judge my recipe for yourself, but feel free to make your own adjustments. Either way I hope you enjoy!

Bucks Fizz Cupcakes

Bucks Fizz Cupcakes (makes 12)

  • 2 eggs
  • 4 oz. self raising flour
  • 4 oz. caster sugar
  • 4 oz. margarine
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • Zest of an orange
  • 125g unsalted butter
  • Icing sugar
  • 2 tbsp prosecco

Method:

  1. Preheat your oven to 180C/ 160C Fan.
  2. Put the eggs, flour, caster sugar, margarine and baking powder in a mixer and beat until the mixture is pale and smooth. Add the orange zest and mix again to incorporate.
  3. Line a cupcake tin with cases and fill each of them with the mix. Bake for around 25-30 minutes until golden. Leave to cool.
  4. To make the icing, soften the butter slightly and place in your mixer with the whisk attachment. Add a decent amount of icing sugar (you could start with around 150g) and the prosecco and then mix on a slow speed.
  5. Once the ingredients start to come together increase the speed until the icing is smooth and light. You may need to adjust the amounts of icing sugar and prosecco to get the right taste and consistency.
  6. Once you are happy with your icing, pipe onto your cupcakes by starting in the middle and swirling your way out. Decorate with orange zest, golden sugar or any other decorations you fancy.
Leave a Reply

