Nutella Slice

From Jaffa Cakes to Nutella, it’s safe to say I am piling the sugar in for these blog posts and, even though my jeans might disagree, not a single part of my is even slightly sorry. While this recipe in particular is definitely geared towards those with a sweet tooth and could fall into the borderline health risk category, it is absolutely delicious and I would modestly recommend it.

I adapted this recipe from a version of a chocolate and peanut slice we make at work. I’m sure I have mentioned in many of my traybake posts in the past (such as the ‘healthy’ raspberry, coconut and chocolate squares, or my lemon, ginger and white chocolate slice) that traybake recipes are incredibly easy to adapt. Even if your initial quantities don’t quite turn out as you plan, you can easily play around with them to achieve the results you’re after. I basically went with the tactic of producing a different kind of nut butter: I had already experimented using a walnut butter in a walnut and white chocolate slice, but decided to take it to the next level by filling it with the majority of a jar of Nutella. Although not normally a staple larder item in my house, I fully understand the current obsession with Nutella. Then again, I understand obsession with any kind of chocolate, so that’s probably not surprising for you to hear. I therefore decided to replace some of the hazelnut butter, again to balance the consistency, but this did make the mix slightly more crumbly than normal. This normally wouldn’t bother me, but when I was determined to cut them into neat squares to take, yet again, as a form of interview bribery, it was a little touch and go for a while whether I was going to have more than 2 (but this did mean plenty of off cuts for me!).

On the whole they went down a treat! As I said they were very sweet and you could never eat a huge amount unless you have a stomach to rival mine (a rare thing), but at the end of the day it is hard to go wrong with Nutella and chocolate. One thing I will add is that will need to be patient with the nut butter: it will take about 5-10 minutes and that’s if it doesn’t overheat your food processor. If you want to you can always buy your nut butter ready made, but this is up to you. Either way I hope you enjoy!

Nutella Slice

Nutella Slice

  • 200g hazelnuts
  • 100g butter
  • 250g digestive biscuits
  • 200g light brown soft sugar
  • 100g hazelnut spread
  • 100g chocolate

Method

  1. Put the hazelnuts in a food processor and blitz until smooth. This will take a little while and you will need to scrape down the sides every now and again.
  2. Meanwhile melt the butter in a saucepan.
  3. Crush the digestives in a separate bowl and pour in the butter. Stir to coat evenly.
  4. Add the blitzed hazelnuts, the sugar and the spread and stir until all the ingredients are completely mixed. You might need to add extra of certain ingredients until you are happy with the consistency.
  5. Tip the mixture out into a lined baking tray and press down until it is all compact.
  6. Melt the chocolate and pour over the traybake. Chill until set and cut into slices.
Leave a Reply

