Lime, Coconut and Chocolate Cupcakes

Word on the street is that it’s been national cupcakes week this week! And when I say word on the street, what I really mean is a few hashtags on Instagram, but that’s enough to convince me to jump on the bandwagon!

If you read my last couple of blog posts for orange, marzipan and date cake or my review of Malteaser brownies from the Brownie Bar, you might know that it was my intention to bring you a review every other week. However, I had the chance to actually do some baking this week and, for me, any extended period of spare time more than warrants a cheeky baking session. So, as a result, I now bring you these cupcakes in the hopes that this time wasn’t wasted!

I have been meaning to experiment with coconut curd for a while ever since I discovered the recipe for Srikaya a while ago on the internet. Srikaya is a coconut and egg curd that is popular in South East Asia, and I have to admit it sounded absolutely delicious. I would love to be able to call my version Srikaya, but since I didn’t use a traditional method including Pandan leaves, I feel like I can’t fully justify it on this occasion. However, I found a deliciously simple version from a blogger called Not Quite Nigella, and I think this works really well as a substitute for the original thing.

By baking some of the curd in the centre of my cupcakes and popping the rest in the buttercream, I managed to incorporate the coconut in a slightly different, and pretty tasty (if I do say so myself), way. By adding some lime, I also managed to balance the sweetness a little bit as I was worried the curd, chocolate and icing would all be a little much. I used my standard recipe which can be seen in all my cupcake posts straight across the board, so you can obviously feel free to do the same with your own tried and tested version. But, whichever recipe you decide to go with, I hope you enjoy!

P.S. If you don’t know what to do with the extra egg whites, I made these pretty delicious chocolate and berry mousse pots. They are a lighter version of the chocolatey treat because I am supposed to be on a diet yet again! I’m off to the gym after this so pray for me!

IMG_2596

Lime, Coconut and Chocolate Recipe (makes 9)

For the Curd:

  • 2 egg yolks
  • 60g caster sugar
  • 50g butter
  • 6 fl. oz. coconut milk

For the Cupcakes:

  • 2 eggs
  • 4 oz caster sugar
  • 3 oz self-raising flour
  • 1 oz cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 4 oz margarine

For the Icing:

  • 100g butter
  • Icing sugar
  • 1 Lime
  • Milk

Method

  1. For the curd put the egg yolks and caster sugar in a saucepan and whisk together. Cut the butter into cubes and add to the curd. Heat the mixture over a low heat and stir until the butter is completely melted.
  2. Once the butter is melted, add the coconut milk and continue to stir until the mixture starts to thicken. This may take a little while (and you need to be patient; I’ve learnt this the hard way!).
  3. Remove the curd from the heat, transfer to a glass bowl and pop in the fridge to cool and thicken.
  4. To make the cupcakes preheat your oven to 180C/ 160C Fan.
  5. Put all the ingredients in a mixer and beat until it’s fully combined and lighter in colour.
  6. Line a muffin tin with cases and fill each case so it’s about a third full of mix.
  7. Once the curd is beginning to set, plop a small dollop of curd in the centre of each one. Then add another spoonful of mix on top of this and cover the curd as best as you can.
  8. Bake the cupcakes in the oven for about 25 minutes until a skewer comes out clean.
  9. Leave the cupcakes to cool completely on a wire rack.
  10. For the icing put the butter in a mixer with the whisk attachment with the rest of the curd. Put in a decent amount of icing sugar (at least about 150g) and begin to whisk on a slow speed. Once the icing sugar is starting to mix in, turn up the speed.
  11. Add the zest of a full lime and half of the juice to the icing and continue to whisk on a high speed.
  12. After that you will need to adjust the levels of icing sugar and milk to get the right taste and texture.
  13. Once you’re happy with your icing, simply pipe onto your cupcakes your desired pattern. I went with a simple blob shape (sorry for the lack of technical term) purely because I pipe too many roses! Finish with some lime zest and desiccated coconut if you have some.
One thought on “Lime, Coconut and Chocolate Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

