Stollen Cookies

Stollen Cookies

Since we have now made it into 2018 and Christmas and New Year have well and truly passed, I do somewhat apologise for this blog post as it has slightly missed its mark. I also promise that I will start a blog post in some way other than with an apology sometime soon!

I have been dying to try these stollen cookies for quite some time now, so it’s safe to say I was pretty excited when I actually got the chance to go down the mountain and to a proper supermarket to get some ingredients to finally give them a whirl. If you have looked at any of my previous recipes, including my ginger crunch cookies or crème egg cookies, you’ll know I am a little obsessed with making them. This is partially due to the fact that they are quite a simple bake, but it is important you know exactly what steps and ingredients you want to take. I have learnt the hard way on several occasions that you need to be sure of each ingredient you use and step you take to get the result you are after. And, unfortunately, this was a fact that definitely hit home this time round.

In hindsight it probably wasn’t the wisest bake for the occasion. Since I had had the idea brewing for so long, it was probably safer for me to give them a go when I had more trustworthy ovens, and in a situation where I can actually get my hands on everything I need, to avoid disappointment. When these bad boys came out of the oven, they may have been accompanied with a slightly rude word.

Since I had not been able to get my hands on the right kind of sugar, and since I seem to be unable to find an oven that actually tells me what temperature it is I really had to just wing it! This meant they were incredibly sweet, and that they were a bit of an odd shape/ vey crisp underneath when only just golden on top. Therefore it will be back to the drawing board next year when I will see if I fancy braving the recipe again.

That said, however, it is a nice idea and the flavours (if you can get them right) are lovely. And they were tasty! I found myself nibbling on them on several occasions in spite of any new year effort to eat more healthily and reduce the amount of sugar I stuff down my gob. So in my state of denial I am going to put the recipe I would have followed had everything gone exactly to plan underneath. But feel free to play with the different types of fruit etc. to get it right for your tastes. Either way I hope you enjoy!

Stollen Cookies

  • 125g butter
  • 100g light brown soft sugar
  • 125g caster sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 225g self raising flour
  • 100g marzipan
  • 100g mixed dried fruit (I used a random selection box that I found in Super U, don’t ask what was in it but think glace cherries, mixed peel etc.)

Method

  1. Cream the butter and sugars together until light and fluffy, then add the egg and beat until combined.
  2. Add the flour and continue to beat until the mix starts to form a dough.
  3. Once the ingredients are nearly incorporated, chop the marzipan into small pieces and add to the dough with the mixed fruit. Continue to mix until the chunks are evenly distributed, but not so much that the marzipan completely breaks up.
  4. Chill the dough for at least half an hour.
  5. Preheat your oven to 280C/ 160C Fan.
  6. Break off small sections of dough, roll into balls and flatten slightly before placing them evenly on a lined baking tray.
  7. Bake in the oven for 15 minutes, turning the tray after 10.
  8. Once golden brown remove from the oven and leave to cool on the tray for a couple of minutes until they solidify, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

One thought on “Stollen Cookies

Leave a comment